Vince Clarke has announced his debut solo album and shares the single “The Lamentations Of Jeremiah”.

Vince Clarke, songwriter for bands including Erasure, Yazoo and Depeche Mode, has announced details of his debut solo album, “Songs Of Silence”. Check out the lead single below.

The upcoming instrumental album, out November 17th via Mute, explores the limitless possibilities of the Eurorack, a modular synthesizer known for its endlessly addictive configurations.

It also allows Clarke to explore the origins of musical genres, creating a more experimental record than her numerous chart-topping releases, and developing “a 10-track lyricless album of unclassified ambient beauty,” according to a press release.

Check out the lead single, “The Lamentations Of Jeremiah”, which is accompanied by a video directed by New York-based Turkish photographer Ebru Yildiz.

“I could go on forever, I could never stop,” Clarke said, explaining how he used the Eurorack to create new material for the album.

“I really enjoyed the process and I didn’t think anyone else would hear it. But listening to it in my studio, in my head, learning new tricks… that’s the best thing of all. It was very I was surprised when Mute told me they wanted to release this album.”

The album was also recorded at his home studio in New York and began as a creative distraction during the lockdown period. In it, Clarke followed two rules: firstly, that the sounds generated for the album would come mostly from the Eurorack, and secondly, that each song would revolve around one note, keeping one key throughout. .

“The synth-generated atmosphere of the album is the result of cosmic isolation punctuated by bare interventions, reminders of the human hand working among the machinery,” reads the press release, describing the entire sound of the album. “Clarke features relentless sequencing patterns, gradual accelerations, Moog-esque drones, shimmering synth drops, and surging waves of processed guitars. Clarke describes the tracks as ‘with a sad feeling, things going wrong, things falling apart'”.

Visit this link to pre-order and check out the album’s tracklist below.

List of songs of Silence

1. Cathedral

2. A white rabbit

3. Extract

4. 4. “ Gone

5. Red planet

6. Lament of Jeremiah

7. Mitosis

8. ‘Black leg’

9. Scar

10. 10. “ The final transmission

In other Vince Clarke news, back in 2019, the musician shared that he got some of his love for synths when he worked with OMD, who shared a remix of the song ‘Almost’.

“OMD convinced me to switch to synthesizers,” he said then. “I thought, ‘I can do it. I can write songs like that.'”

Additionally, following the release of Depeche Mode’s 15th studio album, “Memento Mori”, earlier this year, NME shared a countdown of the band’s greatest albums.

Here, it was 1990’s ‘Violator’ that came out on top, which NME described as ‘As comfortable in his own skin as ever – still capable of pop hits like ‘Enjoy The Silence’ and ‘Policy Of. Truth,’ but singing a menacing ballad on ‘Halo’ and ‘Sweet Perfection’.”

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘440680384427371’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);


I am Dan/ Anime/ K-pop/ ARMY/ Stay

Related Articles

Back to top button