The National announces a new song by Bon Iver

It looks like The National are about to release a new single, as posters for a song called ‘Weird Goodbyes’ (featuring Bon Iver) have started to circulate.

  • RREAD MORE: The National’s Matt Berninger on 10 years of ‘High Violet’: ‘We wanted to reach the whole world’

The band have been playing ‘Weird Goodbyes’ live, without Bon Iver as a guest – which will include some of his lyrics being sung by Justin Vernon – since the end of May. They played it for the first time in Pamplona, ​​Spain on 28 May – the National’s first concert in three years – where it was included in the set list as ‘Bathwater (Mount Auburn)’.

Since then he has performed at seven concerts, including this week in Dillon, Colo., and at the Outlandia festival on Friday (Aug. 12). The first concert to feature the “Weird Goodbyes” set list was the Cooperstown, New York date of their current North American tour, which took place on July 20. They have also performed other new songs, such as “Grease In Your Hair” and “Space Invaders”.

The posters were first spotted by Reddit user u/Dannydarko, who noted that they appeared in Brooklyn. Check them out below:

New track? Found these posters in Brooklyn today. at the National

At the time of writing, a release date for “Weird Goodbyes” has yet to be confirmed by The National. NME He has contacted the band and their representatives for comment.

Earlier this week, Bartees Strange joined the band for two concerts, appearing as guest vocalist on a performance of “Mistaken For Strangers”. He joined Matt Berninger and company to perform the track “Boxer” at concerts in Calgary and Missoula, which was a full circle for Strange: before the release of his debut album (“Live Forever”) in 2020, he released cover five. An EP from National called “Say Goodbye To Pretty Boy”.

Strange then covered The National’s “Skinny Love” in April 2021. Also in March, he covered “About Today” for Sound Of Saving’s “Song That Found Me At The Right Time” series, which helps promote honest conversations and insights about mental health.

The last official release of The National was included on the soundtrack by Cyrano‘Somebody Desperate’, which featured their first new song from the 2019 album ‘I Am Easy To Find’.

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘440680384427371’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);


I am Dan/ Anime/ K-pop/ ARMY/ Stay

Related Articles

Back to top button