Stella Donnelly announces her second album ‘Flood’ and shares her new song ‘Lungs’

Stella Donnelly has released the second album ‘Flood’ – listen to the new single ‘Lungs’ below.

The upcoming album is described as the singer – songwriter’s “rediscovery record”: the result of months of dangerous experimentation, hard moments of introspection and plenty of transitions.

Containing 11 tracks, the album will be released on August 26 via Secretly Canadian. You can order / preload it here.

‘Lungs’ is accompanied by an official video co – directed by Donnelly with Duncan Wright.

“Very loosely based on the band stilts on the cover of my album [‘Flood’]the character I play in red is a wobbly adult, doing what he can with his new set of legs and responsibilities, trying to make it look easy, but on very shaky ground, “he explained.

“I wanted this video to celebrate the child, strong at heart, honest intimidated, not triflely with them, they have the strength and power of this video no matter how hard I try to assert myself as boss. ”

The visual effects were choreographed by sisters Billie, Nikki and Stevie Tanner, Donnelly’s childhood friends, who own the Tanner Dance Academy. “They added a lot of beauty into their choreography and also allowed the dancers to apply their minds to the movements, which still shows a lot in the shots,” Donnelly said.

“Grace Goodwin, who produced, staged and dressed the clip, was instrumental in creating my weird character and creating a point of difference between it and my own childhood.”

According to a press release, Donnelly wrote 43 songs for “Flood” while visiting the tropical forests of Bellingen, Australia, and traveling around the country. The music reconnected with his “little self” and he began to fowl during that time.

“[Fui] able to lose the feeling that no one responded to me, “Donnelly said of my experience of the natural world.

He added: “I have had many opportunities to write things in strange places. Often I have not been able to choose where to be. Your life you love. Matter.”

Flood “focuses on” relationships, whether family, romantic, or Platonic, “and Donnelly explains that he loves” looking at human dynamics. ”

“Dynamics between former best friends, or dynamics between housemates, or a relationship where the two have broken up and have not talked to each other in recent years. I like to get into the mindset of someone we were all at sometime, “go ahead.

You can check out the official tracklist and artwork for ‘Flood’ below.

01. ‘lungs’

02. ‘How Was Your Day?’

03. ‘Restricted Account’

04. ‘Underwater’

05. ‘Coins’

06. ‘Bog Mise’

07. ‘Tuile’ ‘Tuile’

08. ‘This Week’

09. ‘Oh my God’

10. ‘Silence in the Morning’

11. ‘cold’

Donnelly will kick off a series of concerts in the UK and Ireland next November as part of a larger European tour. Tickets go on sale at 10am BST this Friday (May 13).

Check out UK and Irish dates below and find the full schedule here.

Stella Donnelly UK & Ireland Tour Dates 2022:


01 – The Wardrobe, Leeds

02 – Monkey, Glasgow

03 – Band On The Wall, Manchester

04 – Whelan’s, Dublin

06 – Zanzibar, Liverpool

08 – Metronome, Nottingham

09 – Thekla, Bristol

10 – Electric Brixton, London

12 – The Gate, Cardiff

13 – Hare and Hounds, Birmingham

14 – Komedia, Brighton

Donnelly’s first studio album, ‘Beware Of The Dogs’, was released in 2019. In a four – star review, NME wrote: raped, but her music never loses its fun. It’s an exciting and relevant start. “


I am Dan/ Anime/ K-pop/ ARMY/ Stay

Related Articles

Back to top button